Une petite réflexion

So this just happened: I wrote out a [what I thought was] lovely blog post for you all, 90% finished it, and then I somehow deleted all of it and it got lost…forever. For.ever. “Sandlot” reference anyone?

Well, I’m pretty sure this post is going to turn out way different than the other one, but c’est la vie! Let’s start out with my experiences in school. Allons-y…

It’s been interesting- I feel like people at my university dress as if they’re going to a business meeting. Every day. Well, maybe it’s more business casual? I don’t know. Either way it’s interesting because there are also hardly any backpacks worn. My Longchamp sac is coming in handy! And the ‘French teens’? They smoke. A lot. It’s ‘the thing’, which I don’t understand at all- probably because it’s engrained in most Americans that smoking is very bad for one’s health. But, the thing is though, a lot of Americans do things that are not at all healthy so we can’t exactly be an example for the rest of the world! Ok so as to not get off track and not remember to talk about actual educational experiences, school has really helped my French and the three hour classes (all in le francais!) are excellent for my comprehension. They have also made me realize how beneficial caffeine is!

I am so much more confident here, and I feel like I really know what is going on. I feel French, until I open my mouth. That damn American accent is hard to shake! But, not to fear, it is loved here. C’est bizzare. At first, it was ALL new, and everything was really scary. And this is coming from someone who has studied French language for six years now, by the way. But now, I can confidently take the metro (ok there have been some slip-ups) without fear and I can say necessary things to French people [mostly] without fear. I have even made a French friend, and we’re planning to go out tomorrow.

Fluency is not something that happens in one day. It happens over time. I can vouch for that because right now I’m in awe of how much I have learned, but also how much I have yet to learn. The cultural things and the slang words are still necessary to learn. I have come to the realization that I must not try to shake my “Americanness” but that I must be French. I can be both and I know it. It’s great to come to this realization, and to truly know that languages open so many doors for you. They really do. I’m so impressed with myself, and this doesn’t feel like work.

As for being sick, well that’s still a thing over here. But happiness and a positive attitude never hurt! Laughter’s the best medicine anyways. Also, French pharmacists can cure what ails you. Take notes, America.

Anyways, if one picture could sum up my feelings towards the [American] presidential elections his November, my new ‘featured picture’ would be it. I love the website ‘Some Ecards’ and it is just too perfect. Especially since I do live in France and I do love wine. Here’s to not being a legal drinker in the states!

P.S. I’ll have more pictures soon, I promise! Today’s post was more of a check-in and a reflection than anything else!

P.S.S. I’m going to Normandy this weekend so I will definitely have some stuff for my next blog post. Very excited! It’s been 10 years.

XX Meg

Mont St. Michel, Normandy, France

I went here almost ten years ago (retro picture) but I am going back this weekend!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

